Kawagley keep's Calista helm, Notti and Guy re-elected

Meeting in Bethel over the weekend, shareholders of the Calista Corp. re-elected two incumbent directors and elected two new board members. Only four seats on the board of directors for the regional Native corporation were up for grabs.

Fred Notti was re-elected from Administrative Unit 3 and At-Large Director Phillip Guy of Kwethluk retained his seat. Johnny Hawk (Unit 10) and James Charlie, Sr. (Unit 8) defeated incumbents Henry Roberts and Showalter Smith, repectively.

When the Calista board met to reorganize, Oscar Kawagley was elected president of the corporation, ending speculation over whether he or ousted president Martin Moore would lead the corporation. Ray Christiansen was re-elected chairman of the board, Moses Paukan was selected vice president, Johnny Hawk is the new secretary of the corporation and Moses Nickolai is treasurer.