BLM Awards Pins

Silver lapel pins depicting winged parachutes were presented to 18 Alaska smoke jumpers Tuesday, July 1, by Robert C. Krumm, manager of the Bureau of Land Management's Fairbanks District.

Eleven of the jumpers were present to receive their pins, but the others had been dispatched to attack a new fire just 30 minutes before the scheduled presentation.

Pins went to six men newly trained in smoke jumping at BLM's fire control center in Fairbanks, including the first Alaskan Indian to be trained locally as a jumper-Victor Nicholas.

Other new jumpers are Monte Binger, John Culbertson, Lindsey Davenport, Wayne Hunt, and Jimmie Pearce.

Twelve of the men receiving silver pins had been trained elsewhere, but are jumping in Alaska for the first time this year.

They are Pat Brooke, David Christopherson, Ralph Clark, Jack Gordon, Cliff Hamilton, Lyle Haugsven, Keith Lockwood, John Manley, Charley Mosely, Bill Nelson, Don Ranstrom, and Wayne Sugg.