Nominations sought for AFN's **Citizen of the Year**

The Board of Directors of the Alaska Federation of Natives, Inc. is seeking nominations from individuals as well as village, regional, and statewide native organizations for the AFN Citizen of the Year Award.

In the past, these awards have been presented to such distinguished native leaders as Frank Degnan, Roger Lang, Emil Notti, Howard Rock, Chief Andrew Isaac, Della Keats, Richard Jansen, and Eben Hopson.

The presentation of this award has provided the native community with an opportunity to formally and publicly recognize those individuals who have devoted a large portion of their lives to the objectives as outlined in the AFN Constitution:

- To promote pride on the part of the Natives of Alaska in their heritage and traditions;

- To preserve the customs, folklore and art of the Native races:

- To promote the physical, economic and social wellbeing of Alaska Natives:

inequities which such prejudice creates: and.

- To promote good government by reminding those who govern and those governed of their joint and mutual responsibilities.

If you have an individual you would like to nominate for this distinct award, please forward your nomination and a brief paragraph describing your candidate - a bit of personal background and why you feel this individual should be nominated.

The AFN Board of Directors will be meeting to select the individual to receive this award prior to the convention. We are asking that all nominations arrive at our offices no later than Friday, October 18th.

Please forward your nominations to:

AFN. Inc.

1577 'C' Street

Anchorage, Alaska 99504

Attention: Land Claims

Should you have further questions, please contact our - To discourage and overcome racial prejudice and the office at 274-3611 and ask for Janie or Caren.