Sealaska elects six directors

shareholders elected six directors at the 16th annual meeting held in Juneau Nov. 4, and Marlene Johnson was reelected chairman in the annual board meeting immediately following.

Five of the directors were elected from a slate of six nominated by the Sealaska Board of Directors. Besides Johnson, they included Patrick Anderson of Juneau, Joseph Demmert Jr. of Ketchikan, Clarence Jackson Sr. of Kake and Carlton R. Smith of Anchorage.

One independent candidate was elected, Ralph Strong of Juneau.

An estimated 500 shareholders attended the meeting at which 64.5 percent of all shareholders were represented in person or by proxy.

The 18-member Sealaska board also re-elected Jackson as vice chairman and all corporate officers, including Byron I. Mallott as chief executive officer.