AFN '87: 1991 • The Land • The People

"1991 The Lande The People" will be the theme of the 21st annual Alaska Federation of Natives Convention, Oct. 22-24, at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage.

The theme reflects the essence of what the 1991 debate has come to represent for most Alaska Natives, according to AFN. The 1991 amendments to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act will again be the focus of the convention.

The proceedings will be covered live from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day on the Rural Alaska Television Network. RATNET is broadcast live throughout rural Alaska.

The Honorable Arthur Goldberg, former U.S. Supreme Court justice and first national counsel for the AFN, will deliver the keynote address. Also scheduled to address the covnvention are Anchorage Mayor Tony Knowles, Gov. Steve Cowper, Sens. Ted Stevens and Frank Murkowski and Congressman Don Young.

Time for remembrances will be set aside at the opening of the convention to remember Alaska Native leaders who died this year, including former



AFN board members Ivan Gamble, Roger Lang and Lillie McGarvey, as well as others.

The AFN Citizen of the Year award will be presented to an individual who has devoted a large portion of his or her life to working on behalf of Alaska Natives. Passt recipients have included John Sackett, Willie Kasayulie, Herman Schroeder, Roger Lang, Frank Degnan, Emil Notti, Howard Rock, Chief Andrew Isaac, Della Keats, Richard Jansen, Eben Hopson, Willie Hensley, Paul Tiulana, Roy Ewan, Byron Mallott and Alice Solomon.

In addition, AFN will present the President's Awards for those Alaska Natives who have made substantial contributions in their fields on behalf of Alaska Natives. This year's awards will again be in the areas of education, small business and health.

A special "Della Keats Healing Hands Award" will be presented to an Alaska Native who has demonstrated strong commitment, competence and sensitivity in the health field and whose accomplishemnts have most directly affected Native people in their home communities. The award is named for the late Dr. Della Keats, an Inupiag healer who served the health care needs of her people for more than 50 years.

For the first time, the "Roger Lang Youth Leadership Award" will be presented to recognize the talents of young Alaska Natives.

A cultural celebration that features Native dancing will be held on two nights of the convention, Oct. 22 and 23, at 7 p.m. at the Egan Convention Center.

Preceding the convention will be the AFN Youth Convention Oct. 19 and 20 and the AFN Statewide Elders Conference Oct. 20. On Oct. 21 a joint AFN Youth and Elders Conference will be held at the Egan Convention Center. During the joint session, testimony will be presented to the Governor's Commission on Children and Youth.

Pre-convention workshops are scheduled at the Sheraton Hotel Oct. 21. Workshop topics include the Indian Child Welfare Act, health, education, land and legislative issues.

Now in its fifth year, "Quiana Alaska," an evening of Eskimo and Indian dancing, will be held at 7 p.m. Oct. 21 at the Sullivan Sports Arena. This year's presentation, as in the past, will be open to the public, without charge for admission.

Following the convention, the Tundra Times Banquet will be held Oct. 24. Tickets for the banquet at the Egan Convention Center are \$50 and can be reserved by calling the Tundra Timnes at 274-2512.

Following the banquet, the Ice Bloc Political Action Committee will hold a fund-raising dance at the Egan Convention Center.