Shismaref student wins Earth Watch scholarship

Roy Henry of Shishmaref has been named the Alaska winner of the National Earthwatch Scholarship contest, the Department of Education has announced. At least one winner was named from each of the 50 states.

Henry and three others were named winners in the Alaska contest. Their names were forwarded to the national level. The other three were Raymond Coxe, Juneau, and Jenna Whitlock and Alison Reinbold of Anchorage,

Runners-up in the Alaska contest were Kristen Reinbold, Jeanne Stapleton, Dorinda Myers, Kevin Watson and Kristen Whitlock, all of Anchorage; William Doolittle, Fairbanks; Ellen Betts, Wasilla; Kristen Hermansen, Dillingham; Susan Johnson, Wasilla.

National level winners will be assigned this summer to scientific field research projects in the United States and abroad.