30 Alaskans named to council

Governor Jay S. Hammond has appointed thirty Alaskans to the newly created Statewide Health Coordinating council.

They are charged with the preparation and on-going revision of a comprehensive statewide health service program. The Council is also empowered to review priorities within the individual agencies, they are responsible for the annual review of the budget of each health agency, and they review applications submitted by those agencies for federal aid grants.

The Council members represent consumers and those who are either directly or indirectly involved in the delivery of health services. Further, they

were selected to represent Northern, Southcentral, and Southeastern Alaska and statewide interests.

The northern Alaska representatives are Ruth Charles of Dot Lake, Price Leavitt of Barrow, Monica Thomas of College, Dr. William Doolittle of Fairbanks, Dennis Tiepelman of Kotzebue, and Dr. Wayne Meyers of Fairbanks.

The southcentral representatives are Rose Anderson of Anchorage, Frank Gyselinch of Anchorage, Barbara Manley of Homer, Dr. Keith Brownsberger of Anchorage, Robert Clark of Dillingham, and Dr. George Brenneman of Bethel. The southeastern representatives are Genevieve Marvin of Klawock, Robert Schwartz of Petersburg, Sister Andrea Nenzel of Ketchikan, Jan Visel of Juneau, Nelson Frank of Mt. Edgecumbe and Cornelia Howard of Yakutat.

The at-large representatives are Lar Krug of Anchorage, Gilbert Monroe of Fairbanks, Gloria Way of Juneau, Fred Miller of Kethcikan, Lydia Malutinnof Karluk, Mim Dixon of Fairbanks, Connie Simpson of Sitka, Dr. George Longenbaugh of Sitka, John Thompson of Ketchikan, Mike Kammermeyer of Palmer, Marion Lampman of Anchorage, and James Armburst of Anchorage.

The first meeting of the Council has been set for April 28 and 29 in Juneau.