Iditarod purse for 1987 swells to \$250,000

The Iditarod mushers will be racing for a total prize purse of \$250,000 in 1987, an increase of \$50,000 over last year, according to a report from the Iditarod Trail Committee.

The winner's earnings are to continue to be \$50,000, while the remaining \$200,000 will be distributed

among the next 19 finishers.

The trail committee has been accepting entries for 1987 since July 1 and reports that 22 mushers have paid the \$1,24° entry fee so far, including four previous Iditarod champions.

Susan Butcher of Manley, the 1986 winner, was the third entry in the upcoming race. Butcher broke all previous Iditarod records by completing the race in 11 days, 15 hours

Also entered are Rick Swenson of Manley, the only person to have won the Iditarod more than once, and Dick Mackey of Coldfoot, who won by I second when he beat Rick Swenson by a nose in 1978. Libby Riddles of Teller, the 1985 champion, is the most recent 1987 entry.

The first to sign up this year was Joe Redington Sr. of Knik, well known "Father of the Iditarod." He will be competing for the 13th time. Norman Vaughan, who will be 81 when the teams begin their 1,049-mile trek across Alaska from Anchorage to Nome for the 15th time, also has

entered.

Robin Jacobson of Minnetonka, Minn., will be racing in 1987, along with Diana Dronenburg of Willow, Lavon Barve of Wasilla, Jim Strong of Hope, David Aisenbrey of Willow, John Coble of Skwentna, Gary Whittemore of Cantwell, Burt Bromhoff of Anchorage, Jerry Austin of St. Michael, Bear Run Kennels (musher, John Barron) of Big Lake, Tony Burch of Homer, John T. Gourley of Wasilla, Duane Halverson of Trapper Creek, Leslie Hubbard of Kodiak and DeeDee Jonrowe of Bethel.