New IRA council elected in Saxman

Saxman residents re-elected Richard Shields president of the Indian Reorganization Act (IRA) Council Tuesday.

The elections were called because the current council was organized under a constitution that was not approved by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Shields received 25 votes for president of the council. Tillie Kushnik received one write-in vote.

For council seats, Shields was the fifth highest votegetter. Sara Abbott and Lawrence Shields led the ballot with 29 each. Ernestine Blair and Nora DeWitt had 28 followed by Shields, 26, and Mary Smith, 24. Shields, Mrs. DeWitt and Mrs. Smith are incumbents.

Mrs. DeWitt, who is current council secretary, said the

council would rule on the questioned ballots and then swear in the new members June 7.

The residents also approved a ballot measure allowing the IRA Council to revise the organization's constitution and bylaws. Mrs. DeWitt said that process would include public hearings and votes on any amendments to the constitu-

tion. Changes ratified by the residents must be approved by the BIA and then signed by the Secretary of the Interior, and that process takes about two years.

Mrs. DeWitt said the turnout for the election was 47, a little less than half of the registered adults and not "as much as we'd expected."