Sackett supports AHFC eligibility for highway communities

JUNEAU, AK - Senator John Sackett (R-Galena) has introduced legislation which will amend the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation statutes to include rural communities which are commected to Anchorage and Fairbanks by rail and road. The AHFC guidelines for qualification within the Rural Housing Program currently define rural as "any community of the state with a population of 4.500 or less that is not connected by road or rail to Anchorage

or Fairbanks."

Those communities which which will be affected by the proposed legislation include: Nenana, Minto, Circle, Livengood, Northway, Anderson, Tok, Delta Junction, Tanacross, Eagle, Manley Hot Springs, and Dot Lake.

"I feel that it is extremely important to include these com-

munities within the AHFC Rural Housing Program," Senator Sackett said. "Their location, which gives them fairly reasonable access to major urban centers, should not be a factor in excluding them from the AHFC program for rural housing."

The AHFC Rural Housing Program has \$5.6 million available for loans under funding appropriated by the Alaska State Legislature.