Students awarded scholarships

The Alaska Department of Education has announced recipients of the Robert C. Byrd Scholarship for 1987. Each student will receive \$1,500 for their first year of study at an institution of higher education.

The Robert C. Byrd Scholarship program is a five-year federally funded program, designed to promote student excellence and achievement.

Scholarship winners included Jennifer Hill of Dillingham High School, Christine Marie Denkewalter of Susit-

na Valley High, Christine B. Roemhildt of Cordova High School, Julie Koester of Palmer High School, Joshua Ertischek of East High School, Lys M. Buck of Chugiak High School, Sylvia McDonald of East High School, Juliana Pegues of Juneau-Douglas High, Todd Micheal Denkinger of Sitka High School, Miles Brown of Wrangell High School and Christina Schneider of West Valley High School.