Public Event-Justice Warren to Be Anchorage Speaker

Retiring Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Earl Warren will be the honored guest at a banquet in Anchorage July 20, according to an announcement by Willard Bowman, Director of the State Human Rights Commission.

Bowman, who is chairman of a citizens committee planning for the event, reported that Justice Warren will be presented with an honorary Doctor of Human Letters degree by Alaska Methodist University at the dinner.

The decision to present the degree to Justice Warren was made at the AML Board of Trustees annual meeting during Commencement week, in the event that Warren's plans to visit Anchorage would be confirmed.

Although final arrangements for the dinner and the program are still pending, said Bowman, the event is scheduled for 8 p.m. in the ballroom of the Anchorage Westward Hotel.

Other dining areas of the hotel will be prepared to serve overflow guests and closed-circuit television may be used to bring the dinner program to those areas.

Warren was appointed Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in 1958 by the late President Dwight D. Eisenhower.

The 78-year-old Justice announced his plans to retire from the Court during the Johnson Administration, on the condition that a successor would be appointed before his retirement would be effective.

Recent Senate confirmation of the appointment of Warren Burger as Chief Justice has now made Warren's retirement possible.

The Justice, who reportedly will be coming to Alaska on vacation, will be accompanied by his wife, Nina, and close friends.

The dinner honoring Warren will be a public event, says Bowman, and an announcement will be made soon as to where invitations may be purchased.

Members of the citizens committee co-sponsoring the dinner with Alaska Methodist University are Willard Bowman, Fred P. Mc-Ginnis, Bert Hall, Larry Carr, Norman Gorsuch, Jack White, Barney Gottstein, Mrs. John M. Savage, Mrs. John Roderick, Mrs. Ted Pease, Henry Hedberg, Emil Notti, Ken Merwin, Mrs. Lynn Ellsworth, Claire Banks, C.V. Chatterton, Peter LaBate and Russell Arnett.